School Board Information

What (and who) is the school board?

From SPS, "Responsibilities of the Board of Directors include: hiring and evaluating the Superintendent; establishing policies for governing the school district; adopting a balanced budget each year; having legal and fiduciary authority for the school district; adopting instructional materials; and, serving as community representatives to the district and on behalf of the district."

Our seven elected school board directors each represent a geographic area (Director District) of the Seattle school district and serve on four committees that provide oversight and recommendations in specific areas within SPS. Regular school board meetings are held on the first and third Wednesdays of every month and are open to the public. Board directors also hold community meetings at varying times. Please see the school board calendar for more information. Contact the entire board, the Superintendent, and SPS senior staff by emailing or just the seven board directors at 


Scott Pinkham, Member-at-Large (currently serving 2015-2019)

John Rogers Elementary
Loyal Heights Elementary
North Beach Elementary
Northgate Elementary
Olympic Hills Elementary
Viewlands Elementary
Wedgwood Elementary
Broadview-Thomson K-8
Jane Addams Middle School
Whitman Middle School
Ingraham High School                                                                                                                                                   Hazel Wolf K-8
Nathan Hale School
Middle College - Northgate


Rick Burke (serving 2015-2019)

B.F. Day Elementary
Daniel Bagley Elementary
Green Lake Elementary
Greenwood Elementary
McDonald International Elementary
Olympic View Elementary
Sacajawea Elementary
John Stanford International Elementary
Whittier Elementary
Licton Springs K-8
Hamilton International Middle School
Cascadia at Lincoln (Highly Capable Cohort)


Jill Geary (serving 2015-2019)

Bryant Elementary
Laurelhurst Elementary
McGilvra Elementary
Montlake Elementary
Sand Point Elementary
Thornton Creek Elementary
View Ridge Elementary
Eckstein Middle School
Roosevelt High School
Middle College - UW


Sue Peters, Board President (serving 2013-2017)

Adams Elementary
Coe Elementary                                                                                                                                                               John Hay Elementary
Lawton Elementary
Queen Anne Elementary
West Woodland Elementary
Catharine Blaine K-8
Salmon Bay K-8
McClure Middle School
Ballard High School
The Center School
Cascade Parent Partnership Program


Stephan Blanford (serving 2013-2017)

Bailey Gatzert Elementary
Leschi Elementary
Lowell Elementary
Madrona Elementary
Stevens Elementary
Thurgood Marshall Elementary
Washington Middle School
Garfield High School
Nova High School
Seattle World School
Middle College - Seattle U


Leslie Harris, Board Vice-President (serving 2015-2019)

Alki Elementary
Arbor Heights Elementary
Concord International Elementary
Fairmount Park Elementary
Gatewood Elementary
Highland Park Elementary
Lafayette Elementary
Roxhill Elementary
Sanislo Elementary
Genessee Hill (formerly Schmitz Park Elementary)
West Seattle Elementary
Louisa Boren STEM K-8
Pathfinder K-8
Denny International Middle School
Madison Middle School
Chief Sealth International High School
West Seattle High School
Interagency High School (Southwest)


Betty Patu (serving 2013-2017 term)

Beacon Hill Elementary
Dearborn Park Elementary
Dunlap Elementary
Emerson Elementary
Graham Hill Elementary
Hawthorne Elementary
John Muir Elementary
Kimball Elementary
Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary
Maple Elementary
Rainier View Elementary
Van Asselt Elementary
Wing Luke Elementary
Orca K-8
South Shore K-8                                                                                                                                                   Interagency
Aki Kurose Middle School
Mercer Middle School
Cleveland STEM High School
Franklin High School
Rainier Beach High School
South Lake High School